Shadows of Ambition


”Abimbola” the sudden call jolted me from my thoughts into the dimly lit office.
“I can’t believe an amateur like you got offered  a paid internship”, she began,  “What was Kunjo thinking?” An invisible hand held my throat the moment the words landed into my ears and a hot  itchiness crawled into my eyes. But the tears wouldn’t fall, I wouldn’t let my broken heart choke me as it did every night.

“Kunjo said he liked Garri Girl” I defended quietly
“Garri Girl?”
She twisted the corners of her lips in mockery, and her face sent darts of criticism towards my chest.  “how is a picture of a child crying over spiled garri art? How does it portray professionalism and perfectionism?“
The garri was the last we had, and Biola was just recovering. 

“You are not a roadside photographer anymore Abimbola. You have to do more, explore more. To whom much is given, much is expected.  Elysium Art Gallery has given you a chance and you must prove yourself or else…” She paused for a moment  then she dismissed me with the wave of a hand.

I know the ‘or else’ Arsema was talking about. It was the same words the doctor uttered when I couldn’t afford medicine for my aging mother. It was the same words the landlord had been crooning into my ears.  Or else, the phrase the whole human struggles is built on.

“You are standing by the window again Garri Girl” he tucked his long hands into his trousers as he walked closer “you are standing on the eleventh floor of a twenty_floor skyscraper”
“I am not afraid of heights, Kunjo”, I answered, “Besides,the morning sun is dancing on the ocean and the cars in the traffic jam are glowing, I want to take a picture of it” he flashed a warm smile “congratulations on your achievement, more wins to come’

“But I’m afraid, all of this feels so scary,so big,so…”
“You are not afraid of heights Abimbola”
As Kunjo placed his hand on my shoulder, the subtle realization descended on me.

My dreams are worth more than money,a world of relief for me to believe built solely in within.

Thanks for reading.

Don’t forget to like comment, share, and subscribe. Support is needed and will be appreciated ❤️

Published by Liliane Teniola

To impart and make impact

Leave a comment